Tuesday, June 25, 2013

Dunshaughlin AC 10km

34th Dunshaughlin 10Km Road Race – 22nd June 2013
A sincere thanks to all who participated, sponsored or helped out at our annual 10k Road Race last Saturday night.
We had the biggest field ever (667 finishers) and 2 class winners in Lizzie Lee (34.08 course record) and Mark Keneally (29.46).


Braveheart Results

Wet and windy conditions did not deter the field of nearly 500 who assembled in Porchfields Trim. The race was started by Irish running legend, Eamonn Coughlan. A minutes silence was observed at the start line in memory of Larry Daly, Kilmurray, Trim, past president of Meath Athletics Board. Larry was a founding member of Yellow Steeple AC in 1972 which became Trim AC and was a contant influence on the sport in the county for over 80 years.
The first Meath affiliated athlete each year in the Braveheart receives the Larry and Paul Daly Cup. Larry would have relished the sight of the current national 1500m champion Colin Costello leading the field home up the steep incline from the Sheep Gate to the finish line at the historic Yellow Steeple.
In the womens race for honours, Mary Hanley once again prevailed on a course which often features as part of her training. The overall prizewinners were presented by a representaive of Aura Leisure while Euro Cross Gold medallist from nearby Moynalvey Sara Treacy presented all the age category prizes.


Category Results BRAVEHEART 2013

Junior Women

Laura Reilly,28:46
Maeve Kenny,44:28
Ellen O Connor,46: 10

Linda Fahy,,21:02
Rosemary Hutcheson,22:48
Elaine Smith,23:29

Imelda Clarke,20:36
Ursula Byrne,21:51
Margaret Neary,23:54

Mary Watters 21:24
Linda Gunning 22:25
Adrienne Togher 24:56

Marie Reilly,25:01
Margaret Crehan,27:50
Yvonne Mulreid,32:23

Phyllis Browne,24:24
Evelyn Mcnelis,24:59
Rose Healy ,28:38

Women Overall
Mary Hanley,19:31
Emilia Dan,19:34
Aine O Reilly, 20:09

M Junior
Conor Smith,18:41
Conor Leech,18:44
Bryan Strang,18:48

Sean Murphy,17:30
Philip Smith,17:44
Niall Foley,18:54

Matthew Glennon,18:07
David O'connell,18:21
Eddie Newman,18:30

Tom O'Connor,17:58
Larry Kelly,18:11
Paddy Mangan,18:20

Chris Keeling,18:40
Charlie O'Brien,20:47
Connor Kenny,23:33

Patsy Fitzsimons ,21:07
David Hawcroft,23:16
Sean O Byrne,23:55

Men Overall
Colin Costello Jnr,17:11
Kevin Baker,17:15
Rory Kavanagh,17:19

Cushinstown athletes Leinster successes

Cushinstown athletes returned with 26 medals including 14 gold fom the Leinster Juvenile Championships held in Tullamore recently. Of the 14 gold won 7 new Leinster Championship records were set. The 7 included 3 from Elizabeth Morland in the Hurdles High Jump and Long Jump and 1 each fom Dominic McCabe and Shane Joyce in the Javelin, Shannon Sheehy and Donal Kerins in the Hurdles. Shannon also won both the 250m Hurdles and High Jump while Shane won the Triple Jump and Donal got a silver in the Long and High Jump. More Gold medal performances came from Lee Ward in the Long Jump, Keith Marks in the 100m Hurdles and Niamh Reynolds in the Triple and Long Jump . Keith got 2nd in the 300m Hurdles and High Jump while Niamh got a 3rd in the Shot. Shauna White, Orna and Eoin Reynolds each got silver in the Javelin. Caoimhe Doyle got a silver in the Discus and Luke McCabe a silver in the 400m.  Zoe Mohan got a bronze in the Long Jump while Michael Sullivan got a bronze in the Shot. Other National qualifiers include Mark Joyce in the Jav. Praise must also go to Aoife Lenihan, Conor Flanagan, Killian and Sean Hogan, Grace Willis and Eoin Smyth who competed very well in their respective events.  Congrats must go to Elizabeth Morland who reached the European qualifying Youth standard in the Long Jump, High Jump, and 100m Hurdles a tremendous achievement and will represent  Ireland in the 100m hurdles at the European Youth Olympics in July in Holland